Alberta’s accounting profession welcomes first graduates to successfully complete the national CPA exam

Alberta’s accounting profession welcomes first graduates to successfully complete the national CPA exam

Two hundred and seventy accounting students from across Alberta celebrated an important career milestone on Friday, December 4: passing the CPA Common Final Examination (CFE). In doing so, their names go down in history as the first students in the province to complete the recently introduced CPA professional examination.

Rachel Miller FCPA, FCA, CEO of CPA Alberta, congratulated the 2015 class of Alberta graduates on their achievement. “This is truly a once in a lifetime accomplishment,” she said. “Not only have these graduates completed a crucial step towards obtaining their CPA designation but as the first class to pass the exam, they represent the bright future of the accounting profession.”

Caleb Hagemeister, of MNP Medicine Hat, has been named the CPA Western School of Business (CPAWSB) Regional Gold Medalist, marking the top performance on the CFE in the Western provinces. He is joined by four other individuals whose performances earned them spots on the National Honour Roll list. (See the full Honour Roll list at the end of this article)

“These candidates have demonstrated a high degree of professionalism, technical skill, and business acumen, and represent the bright future of the unified profession,” said Steve Vieweg, FCPA, FCMA, CEO of the CPA Western School of Business. “We wish this first cohort of successful writers all the best as they move forward in their careers.”

In order to qualify for the CPA designation, Alberta students must complete rigorous course work through CPAWSB, pass the CFE and complete 30 months of practical experience.

After completing their practical experience requirements and obtaining the CPA designation, they will become the first accountants in Alberta who can officially use the CPA designation on its own. Current members can now use the new CPA designation, but it must be in conjunction with their CA, CMA, and CGA designations for a minimum of 10 years.

National Honour Roll List

Congratulations to the following five individuals whose exceptional performances on the CFE led them to be named to the National Honour Roll.

Caleb Hagemeister   MNP, Medicine Hat

Sam Ferrey   Capital Power, Edmonton

James Loewen   Deloitte, Calgary

Derek Mosenko   MNP, Grande Prairie

Brent Vandenbrink   Collins Barrow, Edmonton


For a complete list of writers by location, click here:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.