How do I use the CPA designation?

How do I use the CPA designation?

On July 1, 2020, it will have been five years since the CPA designation came into use in Alberta. All members in good standing, including those retired, were granted the CPA designation; however, it’s important to remember that if you hold a legacy designation, you’re still required to use it until 2025.

Until July 2025, members can use the CPA designation in conjunction with their legacy designation or simply continue to use the legacy designation alone.

Examples include:

  • John Doe CPA, CMA; or
  • John Doe CMA
  • Jane Smith CPA, CGA; or
  • Jane Smith CGA
  • Richard Roe CPA, CA; or
  • Richard Roe CA

After this 10-year period has concluded, the CPA designation can be used on its own, adding a third option.

For example:

  • John Doe CPA

These rules apply to all legacy designations.

Members who hold more than one legacy designation and choose to “tag” should only use the CPA designation once.

For example:

  • John Doe CPA, CMA, CGA, CA

Members who hold the fellowship designation (FCMA, FCGA, FCA) automatically receive the FCPA designation.

Any candidates who successfully complete the CPA Professional Education Program (PEP) will be entitled to use the CPA designation alone.

Using the US CPA designation in Alberta:

Members who hold a Certified Public Accountant designation from the United States and have been approved by CPA Alberta to use that designation must do so in the following manner: Name, Canadian Designations, CPA (State, USA).

For example:

  • John Doe CPA, CMA, CPA (New York, USA);
  • Jane Smith CPA, CGA, CPA (Texas, USA);
  • Richard Roe CPA, CA, CPA (Illinois, USA)


Note: effective July 1, 2020, all firms will be required to solely use Chartered Professional Accountant(s). No “tagging” or use of legacy descriptive styles will be permitted.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.